Homemade Chocolate Nut Butter

Homemade Chocolate Nut Butter

Homemade Chocolate Nut Butter

1 cup almonds

1 cup pecans

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

Pinch of salt

3 tbsp. natural cacao powder

2 tbsp. coconut nectar

3 to 4 tbsp. coconut oil, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spread almonds, pecans and sunflower seeds  on a cookie sheet. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until slightly golden.  Let cool.

Pour  roasted nuts and seeds into food processor. Process for 10 to 15 minutes or until smooth and creamy. Scrape sides of processor during mixing if necessary.

Add the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth and well combined. Makes about 1-1/4 cups.

Notes:

Honey or maple syrup can be substituted for the coconut nectar if desired.

Featured at

This post is linked to Gluten Free Recipe Round-Up,  Minimal Ingredient Mondays , MMM link up party, Mostly Homemade MondaysMotivation Monday, Natural Living Monday , Gluten Free Tuesday , Tasty Tuesdays , Tuned-in Tuesday , Allergy-Free Wednesdays , Gluten-Free Wednesdays , Real Food Wednesday , Wellness Wednesday , Waste Not Want Wednesday , Healing With Food Friday , Unprocessed Fridays , Wellness Weekend , Whole Food Fridays

 

20 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Nut Butter

  1. I love this recipe> I have saved it to my word documents and will put it in my recipe file. I know my little niece will like this and probably even my husband. thank you for sharing. Visiting from MMM link up party. Have a healthy wonderful day!

  2. Oh my! I just pinned and am looking forward to trying it. I have to avoid almonds for the time being – do you think cashews would work? Apologies for asking about substitutions! I could also make it now for my hubby for a nice treat and save it for me when I’m able to reintroduce almonds 🙂

    • Don’t be sorry! Cashews should work. It possible you will need less coconut oil. Depends how much oil comes out of the nuts. Let me know how it works out for you 🙂

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites 1.24.14

    • If your house is very warm, it should be kept in the fridge. It will keep for 2 or 3 weeks. To make it speadable again, you will want to leave it out for a couple of hours. Or warm it gently by setting the jar in a pan of very warm or hot water.

      • My house is basically 70 degrees year around. I didn’t know if it will go rancid if left in the cupboard or if it has a longer shelf life if its in the fridge?

  4. Pingback: Homemade Chocolate Nut Butter : Real Food Recipe Roundup

  5. SO glad you came to my blog so I could find yours. I love, love that you do gluten-free, that is all I do as well. This nut butter, oh my goodness, looks heavenly. I make a chocolate one with all sunflower kernels. But my alltime favorite nut butter is pecan butter, so adding the almonds, pecans and sunflower kernels just sounds like perfection!

Leave a Reply

